Season 3 Premiere: Game of Thrones!

Winter is finally here.

Image

After waiting our fair amount of time, HBO’s Game of Thrones has finally returned to us, and it is sweet. Season three’s opening episode, “Valar Dohaeris,” aired last night, Easter Sunday, at the same time The Walking Dead finale aired and still got 4.4 million U.S. viewers – a personal record for GoT. Even I watched GoT first and watched TWD’s later replay (I’ll discuss TWD later).

Image

So what’s in store for us this season? This season will be pivotal to the storyline, if I’m not mistaken. So many power shifts are on the brink of exploding. It’s exciting. My personal favorite character and development is Daenerys Targaryen (Emilia Clarke / “WHERE ARE MY DRAGONS?!”). She is the Mother of Dragons, the Khaleesi, Daenerys Stormborn… Whichever alias suits you. I can already tell that her story will be one of the most intense developments in the entire series. Not having read the books (I’m ashamed), I can’t predict what exactly will happen, but I’m aware of the basic outline. And folks, it will be epic.

Image

Another one of my favorite characters is Tyrion Lannister. The premiere was pretty rough on Peter Dinklage, the talent behind the infamous dwarf. Not only has Tyrion practically been disowned by his father, Tywin, but was totally degraded, as well. My only hope is that Tyrion decides to rebel against his ungrateful father and join an opposing force (possibly the Starks). It’s unfortunate how Tyrion is treated by his family, especially considering how decent of a man he is. Most notably, his sister, Cersei, always finds a slithering way of insulting or harming Tyrion, whether it be his ego or emotions. If anything, I hope this season supplies Tyrion with a mass amount of good karma to be juxtaposed against the rest of the Lannisters’ manners.

game-of-thrones-finale-white-walkers-army
And, what’s the deal with the “Whitewalkers?” Are they zombies? Monsters? Both? All I know is that if GoT doesn’t clarify a few of its fantastical-monster situations, I will become slightly aggravated.
On another note, I am very excited for Jon Snow‘s character growth. He’s finally going to play the role he was born to play. But does he have what it takes to be a leader? We’ll see, I guess. The rumor is Jon will be the one to connect the King of the North with the forces in the South. Whatever happens, at the very least I hope Jon and Ygritte become a love interest, because how could you deny us that, HBO?

748660_GOT3_HS_1119_EP301_DSC2280-1359138834542-A11

So far, I see Season 3 being crucial to the series’ storyline. There is a revolution on the tip of everyone’s sword in Westeros. I’m betting on a few specific characters that will be springing the traps and kindling the sparks. Who are you following the closest? Game of Thrones airs Sundays @ 9pm on HBO!

Join the massive cult! #GoT

Interesting / Funny extras:  Apparently, someone actually calculated the amount of breasts shown in GoT per episode and made a handy dandy chart. Worth it.
Also, an extensive review of the premiere that isn’t my opinion. Also handy.

Leave some of your thoughts!

