My Netflix Picks of the Week!

As we all know, it is quite frustrating to pay $9 (minimum) a month for Netflix, only to find crap, crap, and more crap to watch. This is when you have a similar moment to Darth Vader at the end of Revenge of the Sith, screaming, “Noooooo!” Don’t worry, I am going to be your Netflix spirit guide. Every week, I will pick a few of my favorites that I have fortuitously found.

1. Sherlock (2010-12)

Sherlock 2 SpecialsBBC has given us a fresh rendition of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes in this enveloping series. Sherlock is technically a miniseries with only 6 episodes, but each episode is an hour and a half long. Even though the episodes are the length of an average film, the development is thorough, and enables you to fall asleep a couple of times (Oops). Sherlock is definitely not boring, bestowing meticulous mysteries every episode, but demands its viewers to invest a good amount of their time. On the positive side, each episode’s plot seems complete and leaves nothing to be desired. Benedict Cumberbatch steals the show with his ideal representation of a sharp-witted, over-deducing, socially abnormal Sherlock Holmes. Excluding Cumberbatch, the acting is still respectable across the board. This series is definitely worthy of your Netflix-viewing eyes! Check it out! 4.5 out 5 stars

2. Like Crazy (2011)

like-crazyI might be slightly biased, since I’m a girl, and this is technically a “chick flick,” but Like Crazy (also available at Redbox) is possibly one of the most realistic love stories I have seen rendered as a film. Drake Doremus intimately documents a young british student, Anna, played by Felicity Jones (that name sounds familiar?), who falls in love with an American student, Jacob (Anton Yelchin). Like Crazy introduces a unique perspective of an international student living in America on a visa. After one impatient, impulsive decision, Anna and Jacob’s relationship must endure the repercussions of violating visa regulations. The film is heartbreaking and enchanting all at the same time. The chemistry between Felicity and Anton is undeniable.
Like Crazy is filmed atypically, as each scene jumps to the next scene, slightly choppy, but simultaneously intimate. It’s kind of like a compilation of moments in the chronological history of their relationship. The only imperfection I noticed was the ending, as it left a lot of questions unanswered, and almost killed the entire story…Almost. Perhaps Doremus intentionally left things unresolved because it represents a more realistic approach to a young couple’s relationship. Whichever the case, I feel confident that guys can watch this film (and they should) without feeling less masculine. 4 out of 5 stars!

3. Headhunters (2011)

MV5BMTU0ODE2ODMwOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzI5NTk1Ng@@._V1._SX640_SY427_I’m a great admirer of foreign films, and with Headhunters, I feel like I found a hidden gem. Unfortunately, foreign films usually don’t receive the attention they should unless they are in English. Headhunters really keeps you on your toes with its thrilling plot and gory action sequences, but understandably stays under the radar since the entire film is in Norwegian. Yes, you have to read subtitles. I really don’t see why people hate reading subtitles! I advocate anything that preserves the essence of the film; I will read subtitles all day if that means the film remains true to itself and the actors/actresses can speak in their native tongue. I think Americans just hate reading, period. (Don’t quote me on that.) Aside from the subtitles, Headhunters possesses a superb storyline and a touching romantic subplot. It was a pleasure to watch from beginning to end, and I recommend this to any Tarantino fan or the like. (Fun fact: if you watch Game of Thrones, Jaime Lannister is a main character in Headhunters.) I give this film 4 stars out of 5!

Comments
3 Responses to “My Netflix Picks of the Week!”
  1. wyeldconverse says:

    Hey man keep up your blog its great!

    I just started my first blog and need help getting some traffic! My blog is called MovieswithMusic and its a daily post of a kickass movie trailer and a tune weather it be a music video or audition anything you can Jam to! i was wondering if you could help me?

  2. Great review of Like Crazy! I thought it was breath of fresh air in the “chick flick” genre and didn’t find myself hating it the entire time. And I agree whole heartedly with you on subtitles so I’ll have to check out Headhunters soon. Keep up the good work!

    • heiwanalady says:

      Thank you so much!
      If you like gory, action films accompanied with a nice plot, Headhunters is definitely something you’d enjoy. Thanks for stopping by my site! I just started my wordpress, so let me know if you have any advice about anything :). I’ll have to start following your site, as well.

Leave some of your thoughts!

